Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

cat help....vet ripping me off?

greengrl
November 19th, 2003, 01:29 AM
ok, so my cat had been peeing on the bed, so i thought she might have a urinary tract infection, so i took her to the vet, and $188 later, she does have one. they gave her fluid, new food, urine tests, a shot, and medicine. so im a college student, and that was really hard to pay for, not to mention all the bedding that has been ruined. and NOW she is sneezing nonstop! and i came home today, and her food and water hadnt gone done.
im scared to go to the vet. :(
what to do?
thanks for any help, much appreciated

she is about 5 yrs old, beautiful tabby girl. i rescued her from the spca, so some is unknown about her..

ophelia
November 19th, 2003, 08:16 AM
Hi,

The sneezing can be due to many things. The most common reason is cat flu virus. This can usually be treated with antibiotics depending on the actual virus. I hate to say this but you probably need to go back to the vet.

If there is nasal discharge then it is quite serious and an immediate vet visit is in order.

The not eating and drinking is normal for a sick cat but cats dehydrate quickly and MUST drink or else they get really sick really fast. 24 hours is about the MAX I recommend letting your cat go without drinking before a vet visit is in order.

I know this is not what you want to hear...but PET INSURANCE would be a great thing for you. 10-20 bucks a month and you get peace of mind. There are some vets that do take payments. If you live near a veterinary university they may have reduced rates.

Best of luck

Ophelia

Luba
November 19th, 2003, 08:50 AM
Part of the responsibility of pet ownership is to be frugel with a savings incase they get sick.

I'd start to tuck a little away for kitty in a safe place incase you need it, a couple of bux here and there will really help.