Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

What pet ideal for college student?

kelceymarie182
January 20th, 2006, 01:11 PM
I am a college student living in a small apartment looking for a dog but I have never had one before and don't know which breed(s) would be best. I work with small children (ages 2-6) and would like to bring my pet occassionally, I will travel a lot and would like a dog that gets along well in strange environments, is very easy going, and would be allright in a small apartment in a city with a lot of places I could walk it, something i could do daily. Any suggestions?

StaceyB
January 20th, 2006, 01:26 PM
College students getting dogs doen't always work out well because of schedules and time off from school, going back home to a place where the dog may not be welcome. It happens far too often. Figure out all the things that could happen and see whether a dog would fit into all of them before you decide to get a dog.

Beaglemom
January 20th, 2006, 02:03 PM
I agree with Stacey. Not that getting a dog while in school is always a bad thing, but sometimes its not feasible.

A dog is a commitment that lasts many years. Before you get a dog, think about the future, when you are no longer in school but in the workplace. What are you going to do if your work schedule keeps you away from home far too long for a dog to "hold it". Will you be able to have a dog sitter come in to let him/her out?

A dog is also an extra expense. I know when I was in school, it was difficult money wise. There are vet bills, training classes, supplies, toys and food.

I got my dog while I was in university. I must admit, there were times when it was difficult. Luckily, I lived at home with my parents who helped me out. My school schedule wasn't too bad either.