Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

My boy Nicky

Natasha Hartman
December 3rd, 2005, 04:40 PM
My name is Natasha Hartman, and this is my first time on this forum. I must say I've read some wonderful animal stories here;) :<:) :pawprint
I have one of my own.It's the sad story(but with a happy ending!) of my German Shepherd Nicky.

I was doing some volunteer work in a Dog Store.I would walk and clean the cages of the adult dogs in the back. They were for sale, but no customers were allowed in the back(for obvious reasons). These poor animals WERE FILTHY!! Covered in fecal matter and urine. I gave each dog a good bath and little by little, their living conditions improved. Cages were disinfected and cleaned twice daily(a major improvement though not perfection) and the sores on each dog were adequately treated. Some even found homes!!!!!(We could SHOW them now!!!!)

One day, I walked into work to find a new addition to our collection of Adult "trained" German Shepherds. He was a very small male curled up in a ball trembling and quietly wimpering. His owner "didn't like him anymore " so after 3 years, she dropped him off and left with a new one! (a schnauzer). He was visibly very distraught about being in a cage in an unknown place. I later found out this was Nick's 4rtrh owner and he was too old to be sold and was taking up "cage space" for NOTHING and was going to be killed in 2 weeks.

During those 2 weeks, I took extremely good care of this "death row inmate". HE WAS INNOCENT. His only crime was being 8 yrs old. I adopted Nick 4ever on october 12 2004 at 5:00pm!!!!:love: :love: :love:

Nick then had the toughest break a dog can have! He was hit by a car!!!! Poor animal! Just as he had finaly found a mommy who truely LOVED him, he was going to die.

I wasn't going to let that happen. WE went to 4 vets before one agreed to take our mangled Nicky in. His front leg was almost totally torn out and he was in shock.