Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Adopted stray kitty came with "bonus" (sorry, long)

moinmd2005
November 15th, 2005, 10:55 PM
Hi all! I am a newbie here and have enjoyed the last 4 hours perusing the many posts! lol
I recently adopted a stray (?) female cat (who is approximately 3 years old, per my vet). The kids "twisted my arm" and I am so thankful they did.. she is a sweetheart and a cuddle bug. She evidently had owners before who gave her away and she somehow found her way back "home". They left her on the street (for weeks), and my kids took it upon themselves to find out whether they would mind if we adopted her- don't ask me how 11 year old kids knew all these things!! (Can you imagine kicking a loving cat out on the street?!?!) They, of course, said "take her". She is strictly an inside cat since we brought her home and has brought us much joy. The only drawback (?) is that when we adopted her, she was pregnant. Of course, we didn't know this at the time and she evidently wasn't far enough along when we took her for her initial checkup (shots and feline leukemia test) to notice. (I know, in hindsight, I should have had her spayed right then... please don't flame me, I learned my lesson) She started gaining weight and we thought- wonderful- she is making up for her time on the street (she was a skinny thing when we brought her in). Well, not too too long ago, when she was laying on my stomach, I felt something. Uh-oh.

Well, at 3:30am on Monday, she jumped up on me, woke me up and led me to her "box". (It's funny, because the other posts I read said that most cats like to deliver in private... she delivered next to my couch in the living room, with me beside her wanting me to pet her as she labored.) She delivered an adorable litter of 5 kittens, all of whom seem to be doing well. I have since moved her box into my bedroom away from all the hustle and bustle and she seems to be okay with that.