Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Kitten Problems/Questions

spoofy
November 11th, 2005, 01:19 PM
I am new to having a cat and I am having quite a few problems:

Biting:

My cat will bite anytime you do something he dislikes.. for example.. at night I put him in his own room when everyone goes to sleep. Last night he bit me when I went to pick him up and bring him to the room. He has also bitten children who are trying to pet him. At times when he is on my l lap and I need to get up and go do something.. he will not want to move. So if/when I go to pick him up ..he will bite me.

I've tried firmly grabbing the back of his neck..and saying "no" ...then ignoring him for a while..I've also put him in "timeout" for 30 minutes - hour ..which is basicly me just putting him in a kenal. None of this seems to work and the kitten is almost a year old now (i've had him since 1 month)

Its becoming a real problem because my gf doesnt want to interact with him now and she worries about our guests when they visit.

Meowing:
the cat will meow loudly and not stop.. when you are in a room with the door closed. We used to let him run around the house at night..but he would always go to the bedroom door and meow all night...waking us up. I can understand why he does it.. but at the same time the cat can't be in the room with us at all times. I would also prefer not to have to put him in his own room at night..and just let him sleep anywhere.. but he always goes to the bedroom door and meow's

Licking:

Not really a problem..but kind of werid. My cat will lick my lips or face while I am on the computer. Its cute.. but it can get painful.. Not sure what to do about this..

Doors:

As he gets older he is more and more interested in doors. I had a friend who had a cat who would never run outside the house.. no matter how long the door was open. How can i train my cat to avoid running out of certain doors (like the front door to the house).

HELP! :(

Lucky Rescue