Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Calgary Dog Training??

tojules
November 10th, 2005, 10:16 AM
I'm looking into training for our Sophie (2yr Lhasa Apso cross) to start in January with her.

Does anybody have any suggestions on what to look for when looking for training? 1-4hr session better than 4-1hr sessions? I have a hard time believing one session is enough and that you can keep your pup's attention for that long. I know class size matters (I'd like 10 dogs or less), location as well...I had looked into PetSmart and don't like the idea of training in the store, but they had the best price.

What's the average cost for lessons? Average length? And, I'm not sure if I'm allowed to ask this...but does anybody have any suggestions or recommendations for trainers in Calgary?? Haven't quite figured out if someone will get in trouble if they're promoting themselves, but I'm assuming referrals are ok??

OH...and one last question...yes, how can you tell I'm a newbie furmom :D , 1001 questions!! What are the best treats to use?? We're finding Sophie is not a fan of treats at all, especially the McD's version of treats (snausages, begging strips, milk bones, etc), she's uber picky and seems to take them only because she feels compelled to. Actually the only treat she actually seems to quasi like is AKC training treats, the rest are all kind of junk to her.

Puppyluv
November 10th, 2005, 08:23 PM
I know a great trainer in Calgary, he has worked (and still does work) wonders with my parents very attitude-filled dog. I will PM you with his info.

PetFriendly
November 11th, 2005, 02:03 PM
I'm looking into training for our Sophie (2yr Lhasa Apso cross) to start in January with her.