Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

PETsMART training

GisyCard
November 4th, 2005, 01:13 AM
Does anyone recommend the PETsMART training classes? Does their method really work well? I'm reading the little pamphlet and it says "our accredited instructors use a proven approach to help your dog learn..." I'm thinking of signing up for them since I have never had a trained dog before and I don't think I know how to do it on my own.

StaceyB
November 4th, 2005, 08:04 AM
Each trainer is different and their capabilities as a teacher may be good or bad so I would suggest watching each of them teach to see if you like their approach. This may be the case at many training places you check out.
There are good trainers and there are bad trainers. Make sure you find a good one.

Beaglemom
November 4th, 2005, 08:24 AM
I agree with StaceyB. I took my dog to the PetSmart training classes. I was a student then and that was the only one that I could afford as they were more affordable than all the other training facilities I had looked into. I lucked out and had a really good trainer who had many years of experience and who also competed with her own dogs. She helped me out with some of my issues with Misty, such as her timidness with bigger dogs.

Do watch their classes in progress and interview the trainers. You can then make your decision if one of those trainers or none are right for you.

mafiaprincess
November 4th, 2005, 01:23 PM
Petsmart was a calamity for us. If you have taught your puppy pretty much anything, then puppy classes are a repeat. We went through 3 trainers before we found one we could deal with, and found the basic classes had more valuble things taught in them than puppy classes did.

And since there is no individual attention really, your dog needs to be a clear cut normal dog without any problems needing more attention than petsmart can give you.