Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Flu shots

doggy lover
October 25th, 2005, 02:11 PM
Who here gets there flu shots? I get mine as I work in health care, my kids as they are both asmatic and I make my husband get his as I don't need him sick. I just wonder if more people are getting it with all the talk about SARS and pandemics.

Schwinn
October 25th, 2005, 02:16 PM
I get one, but I find I usually get sick anyway. I never go to the Dr for the sniffles or anything, so I never find out if it's the flu or not. I usually get it when I'm at the Dr for something else and he says, "Oh, do you want one?" Cheryl never gets one, and she rarely gets sick (though, to this day, I'm convinced she had a bought of West Nile a few years ago).

jjgeonerd
October 25th, 2005, 02:49 PM
I'd rather get sick...don't have to go to work that way! ;)

If they're free I'll get them, otherwise I just brave it.

doggy lover
October 25th, 2005, 02:50 PM
Here the flu shot is free.

gottahavepets
October 25th, 2005, 02:58 PM
My son and I also have asthma and I got him the flu shot one year but it didn't protect him from the flu, he actually got sick more often that year. I like to build his immune system naturally instead with vitamins and echinacea, cold-fx works for adults, never give it to children though. When the mandarin oranges come out he eats them like crazy and doesn't get sick even when other members of our house do.

raingirl
October 25th, 2005, 04:57 PM
I have got one for the last 3 years, and not got the flu once since then. I have REALLY bad asthma, and if I get the flu, my breathing always gets so bad I end up in hospital. I also got pnuemonia 3 times after having the flu.

Actually, I got my flu shot today!

jjgeonerd
October 25th, 2005, 05:24 PM
Here the flu shot is free.

Does everyone in Canada get free flu shots, or just certain areas?

Nothing is for free here, although I worked for a company that paid for all of their employees flu shots if they wanted one.