Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Am I crazy to get two Malamutes?

Gripenfelter
October 17th, 2005, 04:21 PM
Well my male Mal is 10 1/2 months old and I think I did a fairly good job of raising him. I'm thinking about getting him a female (spayed) puppy to keep him company since another male would not get along with him.

Am I crazy in wanting to get two mals or would I be better off getting a female dog of a different breed? :crazy:

Roxy's_MA
October 17th, 2005, 04:29 PM
I believe the only thing better than a dog is two dogs. There are plenty of beauties up for adoption http://www.malamuterescue.com/

I am no Malmute expert, so if you shouldn't have to Malmutes together go ahead and correct me. I know a guy who fosters for this rescue and they have some of the most beautiful dogs.

yoda900_ca
October 17th, 2005, 04:53 PM
Having two Malamutes is fine esp. If one is a female.Females general submit to males. Your male will "run the show" You can even have 2 males. You have to remember they are a primative breed and have a STRONG pack drive. When ever you bring in a new pet around a Malmaute you absolutly must make sure the dog understand you are the head of the pack.If you do decide to bring in a new male i would take a younger dog(under 1yr) introduce him slowly. If any aggression breaks out put a stop to it right away. Don't fawn over the new arrival 2 much or your Zeus could think he is being demoted in the pack and that could lead to problems(ie retaliation to the new guy or gal) They do work together as sled dogs so you just need to be a firm leader if u take on more than one. At this young age it would be easier. Many fellow Mal owner get a second one while the first is still on the uong side. Beaware 2 that the pair will act like a pack and MAY gang up if a new dog comes over to vist. Malamute rescue Has LOADS of info about working with the breed. It's very helpful even if you decide to stay w/just your one. Best of luck :fingerscr

Prin