Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Sick cat

SSEi9219
September 15th, 2005, 02:13 PM
Hi...newbie here...

I'm just really concerned about my cat..he's 12 years old.

Over the past few months, we have noticed a dramatic weight loss in him. He NEVER used to whine for food, he would always eat dry food. But now he won't eat it. He eats wet food now, but I have to feed it to him all the time. EVERYTIME I walk in the kitchen he follows me to his dish for more food, even after 10-20 minutes after I just fed him. :( ... Oh and his stomach is constantly growling, even after feeding him (worms?)

I have also noticed that he has been shedding ALOT, and he also vomits sometimes. I think he has a hairball problem (tried feeding him hairball treats, but they dont work) so he is constantly hacking, eventually he will cough up something. :yuck:

ANOTHER thing that he does is sneeze, ALOT.

There is so many things wrong with him, I just don't know what to do anymore :( He lives in a clean home with fresh water and food...so I don't know why he gets sick like this.

One day he will be fine, then the next day he gets soo sick.

Writing4Fun
September 15th, 2005, 02:39 PM
Has your cat been to the vet yet? What was the diagnosis? If he hasn't been to a vet yet, get him to one yesterday. Dramatic weight loss can be a sign of serious illness in cats. Please keep us posted.

justncase
September 15th, 2005, 02:42 PM