Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Dog walking

kayla
September 11th, 2005, 11:06 AM
I'm a university student with a pretty flexible schedule and was thinking of doing dog walking as a way to make a but of extra cash. I was wondering if anyone knows anything about the logistics and legality of this? I'm not looking to start a huge business or anything, maybe just a couple hours of walking a day during weekdays. I am wondering if there are many legal issues I should be aware of? For example, do I need the people to sign something in case their dog attacks another or vice versa? I'm just worried about something beyond my control happening and getting sued for it. Should I be worried about this or should I just make sure I choose to walk only obviously friendly dogs and not let them around other strange dogs? It would also be nice to be able to walk my own dog at the same time as the others, to give both a chance to play. I know in Vancouver there is a limit on how many dogs you can walk at once, is there such a limit in Montreal?

I'm just starting to think about these things, and if anyone has any insights on the subject I would really appreciate it! Also, if anyone knows of an established dog walking business in Mtl please let me know, I can't find any!

raingirl
September 11th, 2005, 04:07 PM
First of all, are you insured (like, apartment insurance or house insurance). If you aren't, you have no liability insurance in case ANYTHING happens, which is bad. If you do, you probably have $1 million personal liability insurance. HOWEVER, there is probably a clause in the insurance, that if you are running a business that the insurance company doesn't know about, the liability insurance won't cover the loss (if something happened).