Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Opinion on working people with dogs

mars
September 7th, 2005, 06:51 PM
i'm new to this site and i would like some feedback on something. i have a 2-year-old border collie/lab and i love him to death. i've had him since he was 7 weeks. when i first got him i really didn't know much about dog training, having been a cat person all my life (until living with my sister and her sheppard and was converted). in a nutshell, i've he's pretty much the alpha between the two of us. i bought a book on humane dog training in the hopes that i could better communicate with and understand him. i emailed the address on the author's website with a couple questions and included that i'm gone during the day for work, leaving him at home. i've been working outside the home full-time for the last two months. before that i was working from home and doing occasional temp jobs. so apart from the last two months i've mostly been home during the days with him. anyway, i was told i wasn't a good fit for having a dog and that i'm "selfish". it wasn't particularly the help i was looking for. i am thinking about getting a dog walker during the week, but i'm still a bit frazzled by the email, partly because i wasn't even given any suggestions, and no advice, which would only have benefitted the dog, a species to which these people have devoted their lives. does anyone else work outside the home away from their dog(s), or am i horrible? please be kind!

babyrocky1
September 7th, 2005, 07:44 PM