Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Fox terrier skin problems serious

Mary P
August 21st, 2005, 12:52 PM
Hello everyone I am new to this forum
.I hope i can contribute also as I have always been a pet owner.I have lots of experience but this one has me stumped .Last year we adopted a toy fox terrier named Jack he is so sweet .When we got him he had a piddleing problem but he is now over that and feels very secure .His bio said he had skin problems and even the vet can't figure it out .
Evertime he eats anything( and believe me i have tried everthing including cooking for him ) he flares up it begins in the mouth area and proceeds down his upper body .He becomes very red and sore to touch .He has now been on prednisone for I year I try to keep it at one half per day but sometimes he just needs more .Does anybody have any other suggetions .He has plaque on his teeth but they do not want to put him under to clean them .I don't know what else it could be .Does anybody know about digestive problems .I have tried the yogurt also
About one hour after he eats it subsides a bit but never dissapearing.I have tried benedryl and he devloped mucous in his stool any suggestions .Thanks in advance.Mary P :confused:

Puppyluv
August 21st, 2005, 01:07 PM
I may be way off the mark here, but it sounds like an allergy.. a bad one :sad: It could be anything; dairy, beef, chicken, wheat, gluten, corn. Not necessarily things you only find in dog foods, but also in homemade foods too. Has the vet done a complete allergy test?

the gang
August 21st, 2005, 02:22 PM
i think i would try another vet for a secon oppinion good luck.

Mary P
August 21st, 2005, 05:11 PM