Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Kittens with eye infection

az_guard
August 13th, 2005, 02:22 PM
I posted the message below at the end of another thread but I'm starting a new thread with this hoping that will help in getting a response. Here's my problem....

I'm a soldier stationed in Iraq. We recently discovered some kittens, I'm guessing about 3-4wks old, near where we work. The mother cat is still there at times but not all the time. There are 6 kittens and about 3 of them are getting pretty bad eye infections; One of them has both eyes completely shut at this time. They're eyes seem to get red and puffy at first then swell until they're closed with a layer of junk on them. Being in a war zone I'm not to sure there's much in the way of veterinary services here. I'm looking for some advice on some kind of drops I might be able put in their eyes to help with these infections and any information somebody might have; ie: how serious this is; how long before there might be some permanent damage etc.
I have three cats of my own at home and just hate to see these kittens with this problem.
Thanks for the assistance.

Karin
August 13th, 2005, 04:49 PM
I posted the message below at the end of another thread but I'm starting a new thread with this hoping that will help in getting a response. Here's my problem....