Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Heartbroken Schnauzer

jeepin45
August 13th, 2005, 08:44 AM
Hello,
After 17 years of wonderful loving our Schnauzer Cricket passed away. We also have one of her sons (Taz) who is 9 years old and seems to be lost without Cricket. He is as always loving but he acts heartbroken. We are not sure what we need to do. Taz has never been alone and we think maybe another companion for him is the way to go. Just wondering if anyone with a similar situation could give some advice
Tim

chico2
August 13th, 2005, 09:06 AM
Dogs/cats mourn and can get depressed,I believe another companion would help Taz,but I am not that experienced with dogs.
Someone else with the same experience as you've had,will come around shortly,I'm sure...so stick around
and by the way,Welcome To The Forum!

Lucky Rescue
August 13th, 2005, 09:21 AM
Hi there. Sorry to hear of the loss of Cricket, but she sure had a long and wonderful life!

If you think your other dog would be happier with a companion, you might want to take him to a shelter and let him meet another dog, preferably a mature adult dog, and find one he seems to like.

OR, you can contact a rescue and see if they have any friendly, mature dogs you could foster and see how it goes with Taz.

SnowDancer
August 13th, 2005, 10:19 AM
I am very sorry about Cricket. I agree with Lucky that Taz would most likely bond better with a mature dog and that he should meet the dog first. Some dogs just don't like each other, same as people. What I would not do is get a puppy. I know someone who recently did just that, but her 8 year old dog, who was very attached to her 10 year old sister, and is reasonably tolerant of other dogs, is not so happy with a new puppy in the house. My dog is 16 months. I do not know if he would accept another dog in the house but if I were inclined to try, I would look at a senior female whose body could withstand the antics of a 22 lb. Eskimo. They play rough.

coppperbelle