Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Student Loans

raingirl
August 10th, 2005, 08:23 PM
I hate student loans.

When I started school, they had something called "loan forgiveness" on government loans (OSAP). Basically, when you graduate, the evaluate your loan and forgive some of it, usually 30% of your loan. With that I didn't feel so bad getting loans for school. You got your loan documents, took them to your bank, and the bank held the loan.

In my last year of school, they changed the whole system. The government took over all new loans. So I ended up with three loans, one from ontario, and two for canada, one with the government.

After I graduated, I learned that they no longer offered loan forgiveness on old loans, and they have a new thing called "interest relief" where you apply to have the government pay your interest and your principal is put on hold for 6 months.

I finally decided I needed to apply because I am so broke, especially having to buy a new car now.

I spoke with the people at the government, who take care of the application, and the cut off for income is $1800 monthly (for me), and it is entirely based on what you pay in only your government loans!! If you make more than that, regardless of your other bills, loans, payments, including regardless what you pay on your provincial loan, you don't qualify.

Is that stupid or what? It should be based on your financial need, not how much loan you owe to the government only! if I had $500 in government loans, and $20,000 in provincial loans, I would be screwed!

Anyway, so I'm peeved right now....If I didn't have these stupid student loans, I could get my car! I'm going to apply anyway as with my new job my income will be lower, just don't know what yet so I may make the cut off!

StaceyB
August 10th, 2005, 09:09 PM