Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Any ideas of the cross Sprint is?

gdamadg
August 3rd, 2005, 08:41 PM
Hi, I am new and just adopted Sprint from my sister. I was told he was a Boxer/American Stafforshire Terrier cross. But after looking around, I am not sure. Most people pick up on the Boxer, but a couple more breed educated people think he looks more like a pure Red Nose Pit.

Any ideas?

Copper'sMom
August 3rd, 2005, 08:57 PM
I definitely see alot of Boxer!! I hardly see any Pit Bull in him - unless you want me to refer to colour, but then there are only so many colours a dog can be!

ok, second look, his body looks like a Pit Bull body IMO(comparing how my boy looks). I don't see why people would say Red Nosed Pit. His nose is black, and as for his colouring - i believe it is called fawn. Most red nosed pits are fawn colour, with a nose that isn't black............I THINK! I'm just going off the top of my head here!!

Also, I am NOT an expert by any means as is anyone else. Just don't ask the humane society as they may deem your dog a Pit Bull(if you are in Ontario).

BTW, he's a handsome looking boy! :angel:

StaceyB
August 3rd, 2005, 09:09 PM
I see the boxer but not so much the pit. I also wouldn't reg w/ city that you think he is any bit pit bull. The mixes are included in these new laws. The pit bulls come in a variety of colours even red, the red nose does have a red nose if I remember correctly.

gdamadg
August 3rd, 2005, 09:16 PM
Thanks, I think he is a handsome boy too. He is about 3 1/2. He is one of those dogs that people think can not be retrained. When my sister got him a year ago, he was a bit bigger (now 65 lbs.) and has a few scars on him. Was bit of a handfull, very dominant. Now he is a big LAZY baby. Good around kids and other all sorts of other animals.