Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Do you trust your mechanic?

Prin
July 29th, 2005, 01:22 AM
No matter how much I know about cars, I always get scammed. One garage put GM brake parts on my Toyota Camry 4x4 because he was too lazy to order the right parts. Another one, while fixing a bushing, sent me home with a cut brake line.

The garage around here I trust is the Acura dealer now. They charge through the nose, but when my car comes out there is nothing wrong with it that wasn't there before. Of course, any man you talk to (some women too) are appauled by the mere thought of bringing a car to a dealer. The most frequent comment I get is, "You have to pay $1000 just to drive into the parking lot!" But my Acura dealer knows that I'm a poor student and if they do any extra work that I haven't okayed, they certainly won't be paid for it. It's a good angle. :D :evil:

So now, we bring our cars to Ottawa to get fixed by my mom's bf, who happens to be the most honest and most hard working mechanic I have yet to meet. And since we're family, we aren't charged labor. :highfive: So we pay the $40 gas to get there and back... I'm going to get my car on Saturday morning (with a new clutch!! When another garage remachined my tranny, they installed my brand new clutch wrong and it's been skipping ever since... :rolleyes: )

Oh, another good mechanic I met was in Pemberton, BC. There was a native guy who had a tiny garage, and I went in because there was a squeak in the motor. He popped the hood for less than a minute and told me it was my clutch bearing. :) He told me not to worry about it, and after that every garage I went to had a different explanation for the noise, but in the end he was right. He was great (and he didn't charge me anything). :)

Long story short, what is your experience with garages? Does anybody here have only good memories of car repairs? Has anybody here never been ripped off? Has anybody had horrible experiences?