Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Legal Advice Please

REVOL-ELDOOP
July 27th, 2005, 11:01 PM
We had a terrible experience yesterday at a "well-known" pet chain while having our standard poodle groomed.
We are already into $300 in vet bills and its only going to get worse...

Her eye is badly damaged and she also received razor burn on her genitalia and rectum...

I would like to know if anyone has encountered a problem where they required legal councel to get reimbursed for at fault expenses.

Also, if anyone knows of a specialty law firm in the Ottawa area, please advise.

Thanks for your time.

Cheers, Bill :sick:

StaceyB
July 27th, 2005, 11:13 PM
Place a complaint in with the head office of this company if it just the vet bills you want covered. If it is more you want seek out a lawyer, sorry I don't know of any. What happened to the eye?

Lucky Rescue
July 27th, 2005, 11:13 PM
I'm no lawyer, nor do I know any. Some quick suggestions (if you haven't already done this)

Take very clear, close up pics of your dog's injuries. Get a letter from your vet with his opinion as to what caused these injuries, and when they happened. Make sure you kept your bill from the groomer, with the date on it.

You could probably take this to small claims court and get it settled there.

Write a letter first to the groomer, with copies of the photos and vet letter and bill enclosed. Give a certain time limit for them to reimburse you. There is a special way you must word this letter of demand and it must be registered.

I"m sorry your dog was hurt.:(

REVOL-ELDOOP
July 27th, 2005, 11:24 PM
Thanks for the support to you both...

Her eye is severely scratched, as they confirmed with some sort of solution and a purple light...we actually got to see the extent of the damage under the purple light with the white lights out...it was all over.

They said this is one of the worst cases they have seen yet.