Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Vaccinating your own dog?

Joey.E.CockersMommy
July 23rd, 2005, 07:16 AM
Firstly I don't intend to do this but have to ask.

A woman I know said that she vaccinates her own dog. SHe buys the vaccination at the drug store and does it herself and saves money from getting to vet to do it. Is this even safe, I don't think I would want to risk it myself as anyone heard of this or done this.

BeagleMum
July 23rd, 2005, 08:07 AM
I have heard that some not so reputable breeders do this sometimes. I have never heard of a person just doing it

Wudjah
July 23rd, 2005, 09:26 AM
I vaccinate my own dogs for dhlpp (just a regular vaccination). I buy them from the shelter where I work for a fraction of the cost that the vet would charge. My dogs are at the vet several times a year anyways for various reasons so I might as well save somewhere. Not to mention I've been vaccinating dogs since I was 14 years old so I'm pretty experienced!

As well, there are some larger reputable kennels that do their own vaccinations. I've never heard of buying them from a drugstore, but packages can be purchased through a vet. My Siberian breeder had show & sled dogs so she ran a fairly large kennel and it was easier and more cost efficient for her to do the shots herself.

Rabies vaccines however have to be done by a licensed veterinarian.

Wudjah
July 23rd, 2005, 09:29 AM
I probably should have added that no, I don't think that just anyone (ie inexperienced pet owners) should be vaccinating their own dogs, and I doubt that most vets would sell a single vaccine to a pet owner. I highly doubt that drugstores sell dog/cat vaccines - at least not in my area.

Sneaky
July 23rd, 2005, 03:02 PM
Yes, for one, the Pharmasave in my parents town Duncan BC, sells all the vaccinations you need for your dog/cat/ferret/etc.