Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Questions

StaceyB
July 17th, 2005, 07:44 PM
Questions I need to vent. As a trainer I see many breeds and temperments. I have also worked with many aggressive dogs, none of which are pitts. They are either not seeking training for aggression or there are not many aggressive ones out there. I have had tons in regular group classes and they have all been quite social.
I haven't researched all of the supposed attacks but from the ones that I have heard about most of them took place on the owners property. Now from what I have heard this muzzle law states that the dogs only need to wear them when venture off of their property. Why make a dog wear these muzzles where the problem doesn't exist.
One of these supposed attacks was where a couple of pitts were in their yard. A small child was walking by, behind parents when he fell. The dogs ran out and apparently attacked the child. The child was left with no bite marks only scratches. My point is, did these dogs really attack or did they just get excited when the child fell and jumped on him. This would still look scary if you didn't know what was happening but I think they over reacted. What would your dog do if you fell onto the ground in front of them. If you don't know try it. I bet over 50% would be jumping all over you unless they had been trained not to. Then again how many of you roll around on the ground with your dog. Many people start doing this when your dogs were young puppies.

I tell my students to ensure that their dogs are very well behaved in public because people can see and say something different from you. There are so many people in this city that are scared of dogs that if your excited puppy for example started jumping up in the air and barking to go see you could have that person calling by-law saying that your dog was trying to attack. To a person who doesn't know dogs any kind of bark is something bad.