Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Plea for help in Mtl

twinmommy
June 9th, 2005, 10:04 PM
This is a strange one, I know, we help animals here, but I have a friend who needs help.

I just finished a phonecall with her, and I am so disturbed I am beside myself.
She is in depression, and riddled with anxiety. She is also suicidal and has tried to kill herself in the last few weeks.

She is not in denial, she is trying to go through the healthcare system to get help. She has shown up at the emergency rooms of the Mtl General and outpatient clinics of the Douglas. They simply up her dosage and tell her that she's on the cancellation list and that no one can see her till mid July. :eek:

I'm posting this because I know that sometimes, unfortunately it's WHO you know. Should anyone here be able to help in any way,by your contacts, or colleagues, and get my friend an earlier appointment I would be very grateful. I'm no doctor, but I believe that she should be handled as an emergency and that she needs to be assessed and properly medicated.(I think right now she's over medicated)
I know it sounds like a strange thing to put in a thread, I'm just stricken with worry and feel so helpless. She doesn't want to see me today or you can be sure I would not be typing about her, but with her instead.

Worried sick. :sick:

Luba
June 9th, 2005, 10:13 PM
Hugs to you, I'm sure you are very upset.

Instead of going to the hospital, Distress lines and suicide prevention lines may be able to help her or help you help her...as they can probably give more information.
If you have a phone book look it up in the meantime I"ll check the net for a number for you.

Luba
June 9th, 2005, 10:15 PM
Here you go dear:

If you need help, please call us

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/crisis.aspx

If you need help for yourself, a friend, or family member, call
-800-273-TALK (8255) right away.
Call for yourself.
Call for someone you care about.
Call to talk.
Call to get help.