Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Marremas

Danny W
June 6th, 2005, 08:53 AM
Hello my name is Danny,this is the first time that I have visited this forum,we have loads of animals in our family but I am relly interested to know if there is anyone who has a Maremma,I am owned by one called Storm he's 11 months old and is an absolutely beautiful dog,as there doesn't seem to be many of these dogs around outside Italy it would be nice to hear about other peoples experiences with these great dogs.

Cheers

Danny

db7
June 6th, 2005, 10:55 AM
I have some experience with them but only in Italy and only with working dogs. So my experience is A) they are beautiful, independant dogs and B) I never got too close to them as I wasn't their handler. The dogs I experienced had no time for humans except for the one that fed them.

If I ever had livestock that needed guarding I would get a couple or three Maremmani in a heartbeat.

I understand that they have been imported into the UK for a long time and that generally the UK bred dogs are smaller and more biddable. I would assume that is through show breeding. Though I am sure there are working Maremmani in the UK too.

The dogs in North America come mostly from Italian stock and are almost exclusively working dogs used to control predation by coyote, wolf, bear and mountain lion.

Danny W
June 6th, 2005, 11:35 AM