Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

drivers tests

raingirl
May 19th, 2005, 10:26 PM
For some reason I am severly afraid of driver tests. I think it's because of all the stress my parents put on me regarding driving because they are both professional drivers (truck, bus, and now subway).

I'm not a bad driver at all, in fact I'm an amazing driver (my step dad says I am so much better than my mother) and I love driving, but my extreme fear of them has led me to fail 2 already because I get so afraid I will do something wrong that I screw up. The first I failed was my first test ever, so that was ok because I didn't really know what to expect. I didn't take any courses, only my parents taught me. The second was my first G test. I made a mistake by not being able to merge on the highway (for those in Toronto, imagine taking your test and having to merge onto the DVP during morning rush hour. No one would let me in, and it's an automatic fail if you have to stop while trying to merge, or if you go past the merge lane end....I had to stop. The tester said I should be more agressive or I will cause accidents! How nice is that! He was a A-hole).

I just scheduled my second G test for next month and I'm already having anxiety attacks thinking about it. I'm afraid to tell people about it (friends, parents, family) because I am such a perfectionist and have severe social anxiety, I can't imagine what to tell them if I failed. I don't know what I will do if I fail again. I just want to pass so I never have to do it again. The system is only supposed to be 2 tests...and I'm about to take my fifth (my license expired before I was able to pass my G...so I had to take the first test again for the third time. Thank god the guy was really nice and actually told me I was driving too slow even though I was driving the speed limit!)