Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Flying with cat and dog

kayla
April 28th, 2005, 08:42 PM
I'm flying my dog and cat out to BC with me on Saturday. Kayla goes as checked baggage and Momma Cat in the cabin with me. I had heard somewhere not to feed them the night before, but also heard to keep food and (frozen?) water in their cages for on flight. It is a direct flight, about 5 hours, leaving 7:45am. Should I feed them in the morning before I leave at all? Or even the night before? Or should they only be eating tomorrow morning?

I've decided against giving them any sedatives, just hoping Momma Cat won't freak out and start howling in the cabin...

This is my first time flying with them I'm a little nervous any advice would be appreciated!

Karin
April 28th, 2005, 09:17 PM
I'm flying my dog and cat out to BC with me on Saturday. Kayla goes as checked baggage and Momma Cat in the cabin with me. I had heard somewhere not to feed them the night before, but also heard to keep food and (frozen?) water in their cages for on flight. It is a direct flight, about 5 hours, leaving 7:45am. Should I feed them in the morning before I leave at all? Or even the night before? Or should they only be eating tomorrow morning?

I've decided against giving them any sedatives, just hoping Momma Cat won't freak out and start howling in the cabin...

This is my first time flying with them I'm a little nervous any advice would be appreciated!

I would feed Kayla the night before. Holding the morning feeding will not hurt her.( Handlers will not clean up anything & you do not want them too either) Forget about any frozen water. By the time you check in, board and relying on every thing being on time...ice will be water. It's a short flight.

SnowDancer
April 28th, 2005, 11:32 PM