Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

When do you need a tetanus shot?

Prin
April 25th, 2005, 10:43 PM
I'm not too good at going to doctors, and I was wondering how bad a cut has to be to need a tetanus shot...

I got in a fight with a tree today and my finger got a tiny, but incredibly disproportionately bleedy cut (you should have seen the TREE!!). It's swelling up to the point where I took my ring off just in case. My step mother says since it bled so much I'll be ok.

Anyone know if a shot is needed for this? I wouldn't want to lose a piece of my finger or worse... :eek:

greaterdane
April 25th, 2005, 10:46 PM
If you havent had one in the last while I would recommend it. Usually its just for metal cuts, at least thats why I have always gotten them, but this tree could have and well was probably dirty, or may have come in contact with a variety of things that could infect your finger. I would suggest getting a shot, and hey if you cut yourself again, you wont need another shot for a while. Its a good precaution and it is a little needle, I have had my fare share.

Prin
April 25th, 2005, 10:52 PM
That's the thing. I have NEVER had one. Weird. All the "adults" I know have had at least one every 10 years. I don't know.. :confused:

Princesss04
April 25th, 2005, 10:53 PM
I am pretty sure they say you need one every four years! I do not like doctors but I am pretty sure the last time I had mine that is whay he told me. I only go in if I have to. http://bestsmileys.com/scared/8.gif

Prin
April 25th, 2005, 11:10 PM
How long can I wait? I'm going to see a surgeon May 10th... Can I wait that long, or will I be dead by then?

greaterdane
April 25th, 2005, 11:18 PM
You wont be dead by then, but possibly sick. You can even just pop into the clinic sometime. Even if you dont need one, it will get rid of the worry.

CyberKitten
April 25th, 2005, 11:31 PM