Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Upcoming adoption event/Hudson

Lucky Rescue
April 22nd, 2005, 11:57 AM
We will be holding an adoption event on May 7 at the IGA at 484 Main Road in Hudson (in the shopping centre)

Time:10:30a.m - 4:00p.m.

Beautiful cats for adoption, two of whom have been sitting in a cage for over two months at the vet and desperately need a home!!

GWPsRock
April 22nd, 2005, 12:48 PM
In an attempt to understand (and hopefully not be flamed)....I would like to pose the following question.....

How is this different than people buying kittens/puppies from a pet store?

I understand that a rescue organization will have brought the cats in, but, how do you screen potential owners while standing outside an IGA?

(Again, I don't mean to offend, I'm new to this adoption/rescue thing, so, I'm just trying to understand)

Britishvixen21
April 22nd, 2005, 01:10 PM
I think one huge difference between a pet store and a rescue is this.

Pet stores buy kittens and puppies from puppy mills, a puppy mill can have several dozen dogs purely for breeding they are often mistreated abused, stuck in very small cages living in there own defacation and mess and only being allowed out to either mate, or give birth. Many of these animals are born to be breeders and after years of neglect end up blind, disabled, have severe internal injuries and are shot when they are not needed anymore. also the kittens and puppies that end up that the pet stores are often misrepresented in there breed type, sick, undernorished, and often end up dead or with huge vet bills within the first few months of there lives. If there new owner takes them back to the store with these problems they are replaced with another puppy and then killed. they are also left in very small cages with hot lamps again sitting in there own defacation, and the only care they are provided comes from students who work at the pet store as a saturday job and have no formal animal training.