Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Pets in School...

cathena
March 17th, 2005, 09:27 PM
I am a researcher who works with schools on developing innovative programs for children. I am currently working on ideas for teachers on how they can incorporate pets into the classroom.

We have come across programs such as using dogs as reading partners, but we can't find much else. Can anyone share experiences they may have had or something they may have heard of that would help us?

Thanks!!

Lucky Rescue
March 18th, 2005, 09:06 AM
HI and welcome! I think it's great to introduce pets to children at an early age. Some kids aren't allowed to have pets at home, and I think it's important they do to teach them a love and compassion for all living things.

Rats are great classroom pets. They are clean, affectionate, and gentle and don't bite. They are very smart and can be taught just about any trick or behavior you can think of.

They need very large cages and lots of stimulation, which a classroom would provide!

Interaction between kids and rats should be carefully supervised of course - for the protection of the rats! ;)

raingirl
March 18th, 2005, 09:17 AM
I think it's great having pets in the class...but it doesn't always work.

My mother is allergic to almost ALL animals. As a result, she was having constant allergic reactions in class as a child, just from the allergens on other students clothing. She was also allergic to the glue, as it was made from horse hooves.

If any animal is going to be considered in a classroom, allergies must be considered first.

Sadie's Mom
March 18th, 2005, 12:11 PM
I work at a public library where on occasion we host a "Paws for a Story" program. Dogs are a great tool when it comes to literacy in children.

Here's some info I found on it: http://www.cfhs.ca/humaneeducator/HE2004-1/he04-1p5.htm

Prin
March 18th, 2005, 12:35 PM