Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Do you wear your vehicle seatbelt?

Shamrock
March 16th, 2005, 10:54 PM
I wear my seatbelt all of the time.
I feel more comfortable with it on than off, and I definitely feel safer.
And.... of course its the law here in Canada. ;)
I generally always buckle up before I pull away, but - a bad driving habit - sometimes I do start driving before its actually on. I always notice and buckle up before I get far.

I picked my dog up at the groomers this afternoon, and was kind of distracted. Three blocks away, I'm pulled over, and given a fine of $109.00 for no seatbelt. Oh no!
I've been driving for almost 30 years and have an absolutely clear driving record. No accidents, no points, only one speeding ticket in all this time.
I asked if I could just be let off with a warning this time? No chance...

Go ahead, ruin my day. :(
I was so dejected - even though I know I only have myself to blame.
Guess they get pretty tired of all these unbuckled drivers telling them how they usually "always" wear a seatbelt

I DO know people who never buckle up.... in spite of my protests that they should.
Well, that'lll teach me to not leave my driveway without seatbelt in place in the future. The newer cars have the alert that beeps until you belt up.. thats a good idea.

At least he didnt cite me for a dog on my lap... :rolleyes:
:ca:

Karin
March 16th, 2005, 11:31 PM
Yes I do. (Only since purchasing a SUV with the highest rollover history)

pollito
March 16th, 2005, 11:44 PM
when i seat in the front (passanger or driver) i can't leave without a seat belt, but when i seat at the back, i never usually wear it,

CyberKitten
March 17th, 2005, 02:06 AM
I absolutely wear my seatbelt and did even before it became mandatory in my province and then others and most states. (Are there any states where it is not mandatory - NH maybe (thinkib of "live free or die").