Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Boarding Kennel nervious momma

rottnrottz
March 7th, 2005, 08:57 PM
Ok I am a dog trainer (so I should know these answers) and I have to put my new rescue pup into a boarding kennel as I am out of town for 5 days I could take her with me but she gets serverly cars sickand the drive is hours and I dont want to put her throught that.
The Kennel is one I refer my clients to and I know they know what their doing but I am soooooooo nervious leaving her there. She has some major seperation anxiety and is still at an impressionable age and Im nervious someone wont watch the other dogs properly and something could happen and change her fantastic personality. Or because I have only had her 8 wks I dont want her to thinks she is being abandoned again like she has been 3 times in her 10 months of life.
Am I just being a nervious mother? The kennel has a play all day package so I am hoping as she loves to play that shell be to tired to have anxiety? :confused:
What should I do? Put her in to a kennel and stop worrying so much? Give her meds and take the car ride?UUGGGHHHHHHHH
Need some advice
Thank you for listening to a silly, nervious, never used a boarding facility before, mom :sorry:
Rottnrottz

twodogsandacat
March 7th, 2005, 09:19 PM
I was extremely worried when I had to go to Philadelphia on two days notice. Still I boarded my English Pointer whom I had adopted after he had been at the SPCA for almost three months (his time almost up).

I called while I was away and although they assured me he was fine I wasn't convinced. I went to pick him up after five full days and as we went to leave the little bugger looked at me at sat down. He loved it there.

Since then I have boarded him twice for periods of five and six days. No problems.

BTW the kennel offers blankets and an extra walk and of course feeling guilty I go for the works everytime.

rottnrottz
March 7th, 2005, 09:28 PM
Thank you twodogsandacat :)

take care