Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

Kennel Management training

lezzpezz
January 11th, 2005, 03:48 PM
I live in Ontario and am planning in the next few years to own and operate my own dog/cat boarding facility. This dream has consumed my every waking hour for months now, as I have finally realized what I should be doing in this life. I have even gone to look at a facility for sale, but have no $$ to purchase this place, and I am not quite at that stage of the game yet. I feel very bored at work, now that I know how I want to spend my life, and have been reading everything out there and have purchased many books on the topic. Although I have several years experience in kennels and working as a vet. assistant, (no formal education however...just really lucky :rolleyes:), I know that I need to get more hands on experience and educational qualifications to actually re-enter the field.
My question is:
In Ontario, is there a kennel management/kennel operations course that one can take, that would include business planning, daily operations of the facility, basic grooming etc. I have surfed around several sites and found plenty of American schools and grooming specific schools, but nothing geared directly at just kennel management. I even found a place in the states that offers very costly weekend seminars. I would like to find something similar in Canada, preferrably in Ontario. Can anyone suggest some place??

carey
January 11th, 2005, 11:51 PM
Check this out - Algonquin College is in Ottawa. The program will be up and running by 2006, if you can wait that long :)
http://www.algonquincollege.com/times/oct2004_animals.html

Lise
January 12th, 2005, 08:00 AM