Pets.ca - Pet forum for dogs cats and humans 

-->

My carpet can not take anymore

Apple
December 21st, 2004, 11:58 AM
We adopted a puppy (5 months old) from our local humane society. She had diarrhea when we first got her home. I assumed it was stress and food change so we just kept scrubbing it out of the carpet. It would start to get better and then go back to water. She was not dehydrating and seemed otherwise very happy and playful so I didn't worry about it too much. the humane society told me she had been dewormed and was otherwise healthy so I was waiting for her to adjust.

Well Saturday I finally took her into the vet. She has worms. I am not impressed. Hookworms AND roundworms. So, now both she and my other dog are being treated.

She passed the worms on Sunday night (eww) and I am wondering how long before her stool starts to firm back up? Anyone had any experience with this?

lil_kirk
December 21st, 2004, 12:35 PM
Oh goodness--I have no experience with this..but let me just say that you're a real trooper. I cannot imagine that this has been a good experience for you, or the dog.

I hope the little one feels better soon!

Apple
December 21st, 2004, 12:44 PM
Never mind me, the dog and my carpet have had it pretty rough. The poor darling. I should have taken her to the vet a lot earlier but I trusted the humane society when they said she had been dewormed. Her feces are starting to get better, still very mushy though.

Something else odd. We crate trained our GSD, she would never go in the crate and I understood this to be the norm with dogs - they don't do thier business where they sleep. Well she has stopped pooping on the rug and this morning while I was getting dressed (after having a bowel movement on our walk) she went into her crate (which was open) and pooped on the blanket. I thought this was odd but I was very glad, so much easier to clean up LOL

mastifflover
December 21st, 2004, 12:50 PM